TOHO CO., LTD. · Year ended February 2026

Tracing Toho's revenue through Kokuho and Demon Slayer.

Toho supplies and promotes films to cinemas, operates cinemas for audiences, and handles content licensing and merchandise sales. Which of those roles generated revenue from Kokuho and the 2025 film Demon Slayer: Kimetsu no Yaiba Infinity Castle? Its disclosures for the year ended February 2026 (March 1, 2025 to February 28, 2026) identify the group’s roles and where the resulting revenue is recorded, rather than an amount earned from each film.

A paper-model cinema with a blank ticket, projector and screen, seats, and a counter holding a booklet, drink and popcorn

Two films, several shared roles

The full set of roles varies by title. The commercial-flow table in the results presentation reflects FY2/26 actuals and uses a dash where operating revenue is immaterial or absent. The production-investment allocation for Infinity Castle is marked with a dash, but that does not establish zero investment or rights. The table identifies revenue routes; it does not disclose film-level profit or ownership percentages.

A ticket’s price is not automatically Toho’s revenue

From the audience’s payment to distribution and production

The general ticket-revenue model explained in Toho’s Fact Book and IR glossary.

  1. The audience pays the cinema for admission.

    Audience
    Ticket payment
    Cinema

    Total ticket sales are the box-office gross. The cinema receives its share of those receipts.

  2. The cinema pays the distributor the film-rental receipts.

    Cinema
    Film-rental payment
    Distributor

    The distributor receives the portion after the cinema’s share, supplying the film and promoting it.

  3. The distributor returns the contract-dependent producer allocation to the production committee.

    Distributor
    Producer allocation
    Production committee

    A contract-dependent share of distribution receipts returns to the production committee after advertising, the distribution fee and other costs are deducted. The distributor’s fee is separate from the investors’ allocation.

Arrows show payment relationships, not amounts or allocation percentages. This is not a reconstruction of either film’s rates or final profit; Toho’s roles vary by title.

A cinema needs equipment and people to keep it running

Revenue from bringing audiences into a cinema carries these operating demands. Running the place where a film is shown has a different cost structure from granting permission to use the work.

Investment returns and rights-handling fees are separate

DATA VIEW

Revenue from licensing and product sales

Selected FY2/26 IP & Anime services: external-customer revenue in ¥bn. The bars share a scale starting at 0. This is neither a complete segment composition nor a profit comparison.

Revenue from licensing and product sales
Video-content use and licensing¥34.112bn
Merchandising-rights licensing¥15.905bn
Product sales¥18.054bn

Source: annual results p.20. The disclosure also has an Other category; these three bars do not represent all IP & Anime revenue.

The live-action Kokuho also appears in IP & Anime

THE VIEW AFTER THE NUMBERS

What the numbers suggest

Kokuho and Infinity Castle both drew on Toho’s distribution, cinemas and merchandise operations. Kokuho also has disclosed routes for production-investment allocations and GKIDS’ North American distribution and streaming.

Toho’s relationship with a hit is a combination of roles that varies by film. The audience’s ticket payment, cinema operating revenue, distribution fees, investment allocations, licensing and goods each describe a different part of the work. Following those roles through two familiar films makes the breadth of the company easier to see.

Share this article

Share on X

This is not investment advice or a stock recommendation. We reorder company-published primary-source facts to make the shape of the business easier to see.

Primary sources used

Consolidated Financial Results: Year Ended February 28, 2026

TOHO CO., LTD. · 2026-04-14

Pages used: p.20 / p.23

Open source →

Financial Results Presentation: Year Ended February 2026

TOHO CO., LTD. · 2026-04-14

Pages used: p.15 / p.95

Open source →

FACT BOOK 2026 (bilingual)

TOHO CO., LTD.

Pages used: p.8 / p.25

Open source →

IP & Anime Business Briefing, December 2025 (Japanese original)

TOHO CO., LTD. · 2025-12-10

Pages used: p.57-58

Open source →

Q&As: Financial Results Briefing for FY Ended February 28, 2026

TOHO CO., LTD.

Pages used: p.2

Open source →

NEXT COMPANY

TOMY Company, Ltd. · Year ended March 2026

Look at the next company

TOMY builds spinning tops and places to compete

TOMY develops toys and creates opportunities for people to discover, try and compete with them. In the year ended March 2026, group advertising expenses were ¥19.133bn and R&D was ¥6.723bn. BEYBLADE provides a concrete example through interchangeable top parts, store events, tournaments and online play. Brand-level costs and returns for individual activities are not disclosed, so audience reach cannot be translated into a profit contribution.

See the company through the numbers →
¥19.133bnConsolidated advertising expenses, year ended March 2026